Abra Goes

on theatre, running, writing, and looking up

What to see: NYC Theatre

with one comment

After catching Cai Guo-Qiang’s ‘I Want to Believe’ exhibit at the Guggenheim tonight, I am finally going to satisfy my itch to see a show- which I haven’t done in a very long time.

The three shows I am interested in seeing are $15-$18. And I’m taking a friend so that’s $30-36 just for the tickets. Were we to grab dinner and get a drink or two, as we often do, the total cost would likely be the same.

The cost of theatre is a problem deserving of its own post.

Here’s what I’m choosing between:

Wanderlust – a one man show at the Barrow Theatre. Great reviews, but one-person shows rarely hold my attention

When is a Clock – at the Access Theare. The last show I saw there was awful, but I’ve heard good things about this one and the story is interesting. But $18 is a lot for those oh-so-uncomfortable seats…then again playwright Matthew Freeman keeps an excellent blog on theatre and politics

Babylon, Babylon – at the Brick in Williamsburg (BK). I have a soft spot for ambitious shows, and with a cast of 30 I am tempted. This space, however excellent, is quite small for a full out production. Though I love catching shows in Brooklyn, I’ll probably pass on this one.

I have to stop before I talk myself out of seeing anything. I hate to admit it, but sometimes I choose shows based on the theatre’s proximity to good cheap food. So if whatever show I see is no good, at least I’ll have a tasty tip to share.

Written by abragoes

April 25, 2008 at 8:41 pm

Posted in NYC, theatre

Tagged with

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Thanks for the link. Love to see you there.

    freeman

    April 28, 2008 at 7:27 pm


Leave a Reply

