Abra Goes

on theatre, running, writing, and looking up

Allergies are upon some

with one comment

As one of the lucky Brooklynites living 3 blocks away from Prospect Park, I am obligated to take advantage of the farmer’s market, the quiet paths, soccer fields, and MOST importantly – the 3.35 mile course that loops through the 585 acre park.

Now that the temperature is perfect for evening runs, only a fool would head to the gym. –So I thought. Until my running partner, RC, informed me through teary eyes and sneezes that Spring is derived from the Latin word for allergy (he lied).

Those white and pink flower trees that launch me into ‘I love sprint time’ whistles, bring pain to RC- if not appreciated from a distance. A slight breeze brings horror to RC’s face and a shower of pollen filled buds.

It’d be selfish of me to always push for outdoor runs, if we didn’t Both prefer them. And some of the over counter allergy meds do help. How much? Beats me.

I’ve never had allergies (knock on wood). I don’t know if I’m in the majority or minority here because it seems as though everyone I have ever known has had serious allergies.

And I thought the most challenging part of running was running. I can’t imagine struggling to breathe because my lungs are closing, on top of trying to train to breathe right as a runner.

Hats off to everyone with allergies. Hats and sneaks off to runners with allergies. If there were a 5k to raise money for research towards ending all allergies forever I would be first in line. Until then, dearest running buddies with allergies, let us buy tissues and the next round of nasal spray is on me!

Written by abragoes

April 17, 2008 at 7:37 pm

Posted in running

Tagged with

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I switch between gym and road running in the spring and summer because I think it helps my knees to have different surfaces. Plus, it’s so darn hot in NJ in the summer that I just wilt. I think the gym is the only way I’ll keep marathon training through the summer (can you tell I’m a cold weather runner?!)

    Jen A. Miller

    April 18, 2008 at 1:51 pm


Leave a Reply

