Abra Goes

on theatre, running, writing, and looking up

T – 14 weeks

with 2 comments

In theory, I’ve been working on rebuilding my freelance career since November, but actually, while I have been writing and writing, I have also totally neglected to consider the business side.

 

With 14 weeks to freelance lift-off the business side of things is piping up. 14 weeks is not a long time at all. I’m hoping it’s enough time to increase my freelance income to at least match what I bring home from my current full time commitment.

 

From what I gather, most people preparing to go freelance either wait until they have 6 months of income saved, or they manage to match their current full time salary. This is an essential challenge because one of my primary goals this time around is to treat my work as a business, not a means to avoid working in an office. Though my previous 3 ½ years as a freelancer taught me to sell myself, I rarely felt in control of my own livelihood, and I never stopped hustling. I’m not looking for easy street, I’m looking for control.

 

Realistically, based on past numbers, article sales will account for 10% of my freelance income to start. While my intention is to aggressively shift this balance, I do need to address where this other 90% will come from.

 

Here’s what I’m working on this week:

  • Drafting Business Plan
  • Outlining components of website and creating a time line for construction (launch in May)
  • Brainstorm how I can specialize and pitch my experience and skills

I’m curious to know, dear freelancers, what was/is the most important thing you did to make your freelance business viable?

RUNNING UPDATE – 107 / 500 MILES FOR 2008

23 / 42 MILES FOR MARCH

Written by abragoes

March 18, 2008 at 3:13 pm

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I went freelance once I lined up a half time job. That gave me steady income, flexibility and, at the time, health insurance. I pared that client back to a ‘corporate client’ e.g. I take on special projects for them when they have them, once I got enough to freelance full time. That meant losing the health insurance, but greater flexibility and time to write what I wanted to write.

    The fact that you’d doing a website and business plan are excellent. My website is probably my biggest self-marketing too. It’s so easy to show editors your clips, and that you’ve made an investment in your business (even if my webdesigner was my brother!)

    I’ve found that freelance works in cycles, so pitch pitch pitch even when you’re so busy you want to scream. When I wrote my book, I dropped out of the marketing cycle and I felt the effects for months after (e.g. no work — bad thing). So if you can start pitching stuff now, it will help (I’ve had articles come through a year after I pitched them — 14 weeks is nuthin’!)

    Jen Miller

    March 19, 2008 at 1:42 pm

  2. Thanks Jen – Good point that it’s not all or nothing – half time job would ease the transition.

    Pitch, pitch, pitch just happens to be my new mantra. Also ‘Send it out already’ as I have a stock pile of queries that aren’t getting any fresher and 14 weeks is now 13.5…

    Congrats on the review assignments!

    abragoes

    March 19, 2008 at 11:49 pm


Leave a Reply

