Abra Goes

on theatre, running, writing, and looking up

Why do you want to write?

with one comment

 

The Backspace Writers’ site has this excerpt up from David Morrell’s THE SUCCESSFUL NOVELIST: A LIFETIME OF LESSONS ABOUT WRITING & PUBLISHING.

 

His point reiterates what each of my dramatic writing teachers at Tisch said: Write what scares you. Morrell goes in depth, clarifying what this takes from a writer and why it is necessary if you ever want to go the distance.

 

There’s inherent energy in your work when you go to that place, even if you don’t understand it. If you write because you have to, which Morrell says should be the writer’s only reason to write (and I agree), then you have something to say. It’s your job as a writer to tap into where your urge to write comes from.

 

This May marks ten years for me of seriously studying the writing craft. I moved to NYC a pretentious NYU student ready to become a writer, as though there was a certification or badge that would soon stamp me ‘there’ or ‘one of them’.

What scares me more = writing about what scares me. My ego is obstructing this path. I like to think the worlds of my imagination are far superior than my past. Perhaps part of maturing is not trying so hard to separate the two.

Written by abragoes

March 11, 2008 at 3:06 pm

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I don’t know about fiction because I’m a non-fiction writer, but my magazine work has taken me into areas that frighten me because I didn’t know much about them. But it’s lit a new fire in me because I’ve become passionate about these two areas. So I guess there is some truth in it.

    Jen Miller

    March 11, 2008 at 8:38 pm


Leave a Reply

