Abra Goes

on theatre, running, writing, and looking up

The Hump, my old friend

with one comment

With less than four months to go of building my freelance business back to a full time work load, I should be in GO mode writing and sending out queries. I should be on the freelance job boards trying to line up regular clients. Yet my website is a work-in-progress that’s not progressing, and I haven’t cracked open my Rolodex since November.

Where’s my track coach from high school? During spring training freshman year in high school, Mr. A transformed me from an ok student doing track for something fun to do with my friends into a serious athlete and student. He taught me to push myself hard, that I am nothing special, and to move with intention.

Passing another runner during my first 400 meter hurdle relay, and feeling another runner come up from behind to cross the finish before me affirmed coach A. 1) I was not the undefeatable, gifted miracle runner I wanted others to think I was. 2) I wasn’t bad, and had potential to improve.

If given only two words to define myself, I am a runner and a writer.

Coach A would hear my professional intentions, and look at what I do each day to get myself there, and he would laugh. He’d tell me to get changed, shut up and write.

You can pay people to coach you in anything, writing included. But I don’t need a motivating pep talk- though if given an ear to fill with whines I can always fill it. No. I know this place well.

Coach A reminds me that I am not a gifted genius writer who will succeed without sweat, lots of time on the clock, and a stack of rejection letters. But I can get there if I keep pushing. But unlike running, where the tangible to-dos are obvious, there are a thousand paths to success in writing. This doesn’t make success more likely, it makes finding your path sometimes overwhelming.

I’m curious to know what does and doesn’t work for you? How you maintain focus and productivity, especially in the face of a hump?

The operative phrase is: Apply bum to seat.

ABRA MILES – 41.8 / 42 MILES FOR FEB

2008 ABRA MILES – 83.8 / 500 MILES

Written by abragoes

February 26, 2008 at 4:00 pm

Posted in freelance life, running

Tagged with

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Very interesting. I’m both a writer and a runner, and I like to say both with pride, but both can be very difficult to do (I say as I dread doing this upcoming interview, and getting my miles in today when all I want to do is sleep).

    For both, I have to have schedules and to-do lists. With running, I have my schedule for runs, and I check off a workout when I’m done with it. With writing, I make a list of what I need to accomplish that day, and that week, and check off each task when I’m done. It’s amazing what a piece of paper and a red pen can do to get you going.

    Jen A. Miller

    February 28, 2008 at 1:55 pm


Leave a Reply

