Abra Goes

on theatre, running, writing, and looking up

Book 2 of 52 – The Year Of Magical Thinking, Joan Didion

leave a comment »

joan didion I finished Joan Didion’s The Year of Magical Thinking weeks ago. My reason for not writing about it sooner is a measure of how much I liked it.

Read this book slow or fast on the subway on a couch or late at night when you should be sleeping. So personal and close-up, Didion brings the reader into that melting frozen place we enter when losing a loved one–when the span of a life is no longer a chronology of time.

Didion’s writing is tight, and the structure of the book organic. I’ll read this book again and buy it for my friends.

Didion mentions how few books on grieving exist. When I first began, I believed I knew why there are so few books on this topic: death is hard to read about. The first few chapters, though well written and fascinating, were hard to get through-not the kind of bed time reading that sends you into fantastic dream worlds. But then the book takes off and you don’t want it to end.

Somehow, Didion makes a world inside a world. And it reminds me of one of my favorite lines describing a world began and destroyed inside of a poem.

Written by abragoes

January 17, 2008 at 2:01 am

Posted in books

Tagged with ,

Leave a Reply

