Abra Goes

on theatre, running, writing, and looking up

On exorcising excuses

leave a comment »

Started the day song – Midnight Train to Georgia (not by choice)

My magazine writing class started on Monday. I have a guest in town this week so its tricky to set aside dedicated time to work on the assignment. But every night I’ve written for an hour and a half.

One of my greatest addictions is making lists and setting goals. I love doing this because it feels so productive. After making a big enough list, I almost feel as satisfied as I would had I actually completed one thing on that long list.

There’s always going to be multiple ‘good reasons’ not to write. But no matter what’s going on on any given day, you have to sit down and write.

At the moment, I’m also working full time. Like many writers and performers I know, I don’t ‘want‘ to work in an office. But you do what you have to do.

I apologize for the ramble. My guest is in between grad school semesters, and so my thoughts this week are stuck on the value of academics v.s. life experience, i.e. struggling financially, but pushing through with self discipline. We’ll see how the next few months pan out.

I’ve readjusted a few numbers:

Running – 8 / 500 miles

Queries submitted – 0 / 501

Written by abragoes

January 11, 2008 at 2:08 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Tagged with

Leave a Reply

