Abra Goes

on theatre, running, writing, and looking up

Back to school

leave a comment »

After graduating university in 2003, I’ve successfully rationalized myself out of grad school several times a month every month since my Tisch – NYU diploma arrived in the mail made of paper.

But as soon as Linda Formicelli announced her online class (you’ll have to scroll to bottom) on publishing work in magazines, I indulged. $120 is not comparable to a grad school bill, nor is the education I’ll walk away with. However, my freelance career is advancing at the speed of a put put mobile so it’s time to take action.

My intention in taking this class is to develop story ideas more and to sharpen my queries in order to hit the bulls-eye this year on my top 5 national markets. Actually, my goal list of publications is extensive (50+). This year, I’d like to get in 10 of them.

Will taking one professional class stop my mind from looking up grad ap deadlines the next time I have to write a story about celebrity hair? Beats me. Did Joan Didion go to grad school?

Written by abragoes

January 3, 2008 at 4:47 am

Posted in writing better

Tagged with

Leave a Reply

